Board of Directors
Eduardo Hochschild Chairman
Paul Adams Director
Ignacio Bustamante Director
Catharine Farrow Director
Karen Poniachik Director
Sanjay Sarma Director
Ramón Barúa CEO & Director

Board of DirectorsEduardo Hochschild – Chairman: Mr. Hochschild has been Chairman of Hochschild Mining since 2006, and has over 30 years of experience in the extractive industries sector. Mr. Hochschild graduated from Tufts University, Boston with a Bachelor of Science degree in physics and mechanical engineering. He holds numerous board appointments, including as Chairman of Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A and Non-Executive Chairman at non-profit organizations such as UTEC, TECSUP and the Institute of Contemporary Art and as Advisor to the Economic Counsel of the Conferencia Episcopal Peruana. Mr. Hochschild joined the Hochschild Group in 1987 as Safety Assistant at the Arcata unit, becoming Head of the Hochschild Mining Group in 1998.Paul Adams: Mr. Adams is a non-executive director of Rolls Royce, a board member of OC Oerlikon Corporation AG, Pfäffikon and Aerion Corp. and a senior advisor to VulcanForms, Inc. Mr. Adams has deep experience across the aerospace industry and in engine manufacturing in particular, gained from over 30 years of leadership experience in the aviation industry. Mr. Adams has spent much of his career with Pratt & Whitney where he held various senior management roles including Chief Operating Officer before serving as President until 2016. He was Chief Operating Officer at Precision Castparts, the world’s largest supplier of aerospace metal, castings and forgings until 2018. Mr. Adams gained a degree in aerospace engineering from the University of Michigan and in 2013 was inducted to the National Academy of Engineering, Washington DC.Ignacio Bustamante: Mr. Bustamante has been Chief Executive Officer of Hochschild Mining since June 2010. He previously served as Chief Operating Officer and General Manager of Hochschild Mining’s Peruvian operations. Prior to that, Mr. Bustamante worked for Zemex Corporation between 2003 and 2007, first as Chief Financial Officer and Vice President of Business Development, and later as President. Between 1998 and 2003, he served as Chief Financial Officer of Cementos Pacasmayo S.A.A. He also currently serves as Non-Executive Director of Profuturo AFP and Scotiabank Perú S.A.A. Mr. Bustamante holds a Bachelor degree in Business Administration and Accounting from the Universidad del Pacífico in Perú and an MBA from Stanford University.Catharine Farrow: Dr. Farrow is a director of Franco-Nevada Corporation. She is a Registered Professional Geoscientist (PGO) with more than 25 years of mining industry experience. She also serves as a Director of Centamin Plc and of Eldorado Gold Corporation and is active in the mining industry in both private companies and academia. From 2012 to 2017 she was Founding CEO, Director and Co-Founder of TMAC Resources Inc. Dr. Farrow has served on the Board of a number of not-for-profit and government Advisory Boards. She has been honoured as one of the 100 Global Inspirational Women in Mining (2015 and 2018) and is a past recipient of the William Harvey Gross Medal of the Geological Association of Canada (2000) and the Distinguished Alumni Award from the Acadia Alumni Association (2020). Dr. Farrow obtained her BSc (Hons) from Mount Allison University, her MSc from Acadia University and her PhD from Carleton University. She also holds the ICD.D designation.Karen Poniachik: Ms. Poniachik has been Director of Columbia University’s Global Centers Santiago, which serves as Columbia University’s hub in Chile, since 2012. She is also a member of the board of directors of Jetsmart Airlines, Interchile ISA and Lundin Mining (a publicly traded diversified Canadian base metals mining company with operations in Brazil, Chile, Portugal, Sweden and the United States). She is also a member as of the advisory board of the Chilean American Chamber of Commerce, AmCham Chile, where she served as chair of the Corporate Governance, Ethics & Compliance Committee in 2019 and 2020. She has also been part of the boards of Metro S.A. and Nuevo Pudahuel, the advisory board of AME and worked as consultant to Maersk Chile. Previously, Ms. Poniachik served as Chile’s Minister of Mining from 2006-2008, during which time she chaired the boards of directors of state-owned companies Codelco, Enap and Enami. She was Chile’s Special Envoy to the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) in charge of the country’s accession process to the organization. She is also part of the advisory boards of Microsoft, Transforma Chile and Chilemujeres.Sanjay Sarma: Mr. Sanjay is a Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and Vice President for Open Learning at MIT. He also currently serves as board member of Top Flight Technologies and G1S US and edX, the entity set up by MIT and Harvard to facilitate the distribution of free online education worldwide. Until October 2021, Mr. Sanjay was an independent non-executive director of Hochschild Mining. His previous professional experience includes being the founder and Chief Technology Officer of OAT Systems (subsequently acquired by Checkpoint Systems) and has worked at Schlumberger Oilfield Services.Ramón Barúa: 10+ years serving as CFO of Hochschild Mining. Previously CEO of Fosfatos del Pacífico S.A., General Manager of Hochschild’s Mexican operations and Deputy CEO and CFO of Cementos Pacasmayo. Ramón is an economics graduate of Universidad de Lima and holds an MBA from Columbia Business School.